General Information


What is WATA?

WATA is the acronym for the Western Arkansas Tennis Association, a non-profit association formed in 1998 by local tennis enthusiasts to promote the game of tennis. It is associated with, and promotes programs of the United States Tennis Association: USTA Arkansas, USTA Southern and USTA National.


Who are the Members of WATA?

Current USTA members in Crawford, Franklin, Logan, Sebastian and Scott Counties are automatically members of the Western Arkansas Tennis Association.


How is WATA governed?

WATA is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of five to seven members, elected to two-year terms on a staggered basis, and four officers: President, Vice-president, Secretary and Treasurer. Ex-officio, non-voting members include a tennis professional from each area tennis center or club, representatives from parks commissions and all WATA program coordinators. Day-to-day business is handled by a part-time executive director who has an office at the Creekmore Tennis Center.


What WATA programs are available?

WATA volunteers coordinate programs for juniors, adults, and seniors. See details elsewhere on this website.